©2018 playlistplay

Band? Musician? PR? Record Label? Music Festival? Music Fan?

Whoever you might be, we’d love to hear from you. Fill out the contact form with your information as well as why you are wanting to contact us and we’ll respond as quickly as possible.

Reasons to reach out:

  • You’d like to get your band featured on the site (in a playlist, within a Liner Note, an album review, or just a general new story).
  • You’d like us to provide coverage of your music festival / concert.
  • You have music you think would fit really well within one of our playlists.
  • Want to write for the site / collaborate with us.
  • You really like Batman.
  • Just wanna chat.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message


November 30, 2018 Stevie Ervay

Mr. Golden Sun’s debut unfolds like a cinematic drive down a desolate midwestern highway. Perhaps the title of the EP – Central States EP – beckons this to mind, or maybe it’s the opening line of the album, “Breaking down on the interstate…”. Regardless, these six tracks are a perfect companion on the road.

It’s hard to imagine this body of work as Mr. Golden Sun’s debut. Cohesively, the album carries with it such a mature and unwavering voice. Songwriter Matt Hamer has developed a dynamic character with the Central States EP that’s hard to turn away from.

Subtle intricacies and grandiose motifs run rampant throughout the album. Each track is masterfully layered with beautiful sounds all working together in symphony. What may be a soft moment in the song can suddenly explode into a wild avant-garde cacophony of sound before quickly coming back to form.

Through listening to this album, it’s easy to pick out musical muses Hamer pulled from when writing this album, but as the tracks keep going, it becomes more and more muddy. In one instance, you hear Death Cab For Cutie in the songwriting, but before you can blink you’re hearing something else. Hamer has masterfully blended his influences with his own voice, making the music uniquely his own; uniquely Mr. Golden Sun’s.

Mr. Golden Sun will be celebrating the release of the Central States EP Saturday, December 1st in Kansas City. More info here.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.